I Choose to Be Grateful

SnowScenefile000711750735For most of us the end of the year and the Christmas Holidays are a time for reflecting and reviewing fond memories. In the Northern Hemisphere, it’s winter and the nights are at their longest and often coldest, giving us time to sit in the warm cocoons construct for ourselves. The conditions are just perfect for reflection.

I’m putting aside my usual blog about growing your business to take a moment to express my gratitude. Realize that being grateful is sometimes a difficult choice. I could take a very different view of my life right now, but it would not change the circumstances. My daughter would still have gotten cancer, would still need radical treatment in a city far from home and would still need surgery that turned out to be far more extensive and debilitating than we imagined.

Still, I am grateful for the time I have been able to spend with my daughter, who by the way, turned out to be a woman who is courageous, beautiful, talented and so very smart. She is just short of my miracle and I have now spent time with her that would never have happened if she had not gotten sick.

I am so grateful that we found the best treatment for her so that we could save her leg and her life. The treatment and the cost of staying in a different city has taken a toll on our finances, but I am grateful for family and friends, even strangers, who have been so generous in helping to defray some of the cost.

I am grateful for a husband who has “held down the home front,” all the while supporting and encouraging both me and our daughter. I cannot imagine not being able to turn to him during the most trying days. I may have been in tears, but he had my back. He and my son are amazing.

I will not say that I would have asked for this experience – the rounds of chemotherapy, the radiation, or the surgery and they surely would not have been Apryl’s choice. However, that is the journey that has been put in front of us. The long train rides to and from Manhattan were as draining as the treatments, but I’m grateful we had that options and that we were able to take advantage of them.

With surgery behind her, Apryl has other challenges to meet and conquer on her road to recovery, but I am grateful there is a road to recovery.

When I reflect on it all, I am grateful for so many things. I am grateful for the sacrifice our Lord made for us all. I am grateful that I could make sacrifices for someone I love, too. Most of all I am grateful that I know someone as special as Apryl and that she is my daughter. So you see, my only choice is to express my gratitude.

Be Exceptional,

Audrey, CEO/Founder Exceptional Transcription and Business Solutions

 

Picture courtesy Morguefile.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

